Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum28/)
-   -   Adding Posi/limited slip 95 f250 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1363879-adding-posi-limited-slip-95-f250.html)

87thhunter 02-22-2015 02:43 PM

Adding Posi/limited slip 95 f250
 
Okay i tow ALOT thats basicly what the truck is for
95 f250 5.8l 4x4 4.10 HD axle

Ive pulled full gravity wagons of soy beans at 25-26k pounds - slow but it does it. Its a farm truck - some trailer towing

Anyways im sick of getting stuck in 2 wheel drive in literly 2inchs of mud get out and lock the front hubs and then pull out
What is the best "cheapest" solution to add posi/limited slip - All i want is not to have to lock the hubs every time i have to drive into a slightly wet field.

MI02SVT 02-22-2015 02:53 PM

I would just leave the hubs locked in when you know you'll be in the field I don't think a locker will help that much when you're pulling

maybe some more aggressive tires and a locker might help but it don't hurt anything to have the fronts locked in all the time as long as the tcase is in 2wd

eakermeld 02-22-2015 02:58 PM

Everyone has determined that a Detroit Truetrac is the best for towing.

http://static.summitracing.com/globa...a314_cp_ml.jpg


The others be it lockers or limited-slip will lock when turning because is senses differences in tire speed. With a heavy load this action puts things in a TERRIBLE bind!
The Truetrac will not bind while still delivering power to both wheels.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/dtl-915a550/overview/

http://www.eaton.com/Eaton/ProductsS...trac/index.htm

rla2005 02-22-2015 03:02 PM


Originally Posted by MI02SVT (Post 15112655)
I would just leave the hubs locked in when you know you'll be in the field I don't think a locker will help that much when you're pulling

maybe some more aggressive tires and a locker might help but it don't hurt anything to have the fronts locked in all the time as long as the tcase is in 2wd

This.....plan ahead is the CHEAPEST solution.

rla2005 02-22-2015 03:06 PM


Originally Posted by eakermeld (Post 15112668)
Everyone has determined that a Detroit Truetrac is the best for towing.

The others be it lockers or limited-slip will lock when turning because is senses differences in tire speed. With a heavy load this action puts things in a TERRIBLE bind!

While I agree a Truetrac is an awesome limited slip a factory trac-loc would work in your scenario just fine IMHO. Find one in a JY or online then rebuild the clutches. Restack them to make it tighter. Easy low cost solution. This is option two to my post above.

MI02SVT 02-22-2015 03:12 PM


Originally Posted by eakermeld (Post 15112668)
Everyone has determined that a Detroit Truetrac is the best for towing.

http://static.summitracing.com/globa...a314_cp_ml.jpg


The others be it lockers or limited-slip will lock when turning because is senses differences in tire speed. With a heavy load this action puts things in a TERRIBLE bind!
The Truetrac will not bind while still delivering power to both wheels.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/dtl-915a550/overview/

Detroit Truetrac

Detroit lockers will only lock when power is applied if you coast around a corner it will be unlocked you will hear clicking tho

87thhunter 02-22-2015 03:19 PM

With the Detroit truetrac do I use my existing ring and pinion??? I'll do a lot more research on it for sure either way though

eakermeld 02-22-2015 03:22 PM


Originally Posted by MI02SVT (Post 15112696)
Detroit lockers will only lock when power is applied if you coast around a corner it will be unlocked you will hear clicking tho

You are correct. I should have said "turning under power".

Here are a couple of past discussions on this topic.

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/9...-truetrac.html

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...-truetrac.html

eakermeld 02-22-2015 03:25 PM


Originally Posted by 87thhunter (Post 15112705)
With the Detroit truetrac do I use my existing ring and pinion??? I'll do a lot more research on it for sure either way though

Yes you do. Would be a good time for new seals and bearings, too.

The ring and pinion needs to be set up by someone that knows what they are doing or it will howl like a Banshee! If you have never done one, find a gear shop and let them do it. If you have done any then you know what I'm talking about!

87thhunter 02-22-2015 03:30 PM

Wouldn't it be nice if it was a simple in and out swap....... And no howling

eakermeld 02-22-2015 03:36 PM

What I do is pick up a tight JY axle assy with the gear ratio I want, clean it up, new brakes and lines, replace the stuff that I can, send it out for the stuff that I can't, paint it, and swap it in the truck as an assembly. That costs a few more bucks to do that, but you will probably never need to touch it again as long as you have the truck.

87thhunter 02-22-2015 03:47 PM


Originally Posted by eakermeld (Post 15112741)
What I do is pick up a tight JY axle assy with the gear ratio I want, clean it up, new brakes and lines, replace the stuff that I can, send it out for the stuff that I can't, paint it, and swap it in the truck as an assembly. That costs a few more bucks to do that, but you will probably never need to touch it again as long as you have the truck.

Sad thing is i did a frame up restore on the truck - already had this one one and installed everything new, painted it ect. - now i did rebuild the axle but it has been cleaned and painted

rla2005 02-22-2015 05:01 PM


Originally Posted by 87thhunter (Post 15112767)

Sad thing is i did a frame up restore on the truck - already had this one one and installed everything new, painted it ect. - now i did rebuild the axle but it has been cleaned and painted

You can replace the factory open carrier with a factory Trac-loc or spend more money on True-trac as outlined above.

If you have the luxury of time then you can rebuild what you have.

87thhunter 02-22-2015 07:31 PM

I'll call my local jy they give me a lot of free parts or really good deals, due to where I work - have a deal between business and they pass it onto me!!!
But I'll look and see what people have so all I need then is a limited slip out of another axle???? Everything else should be the same???

eakermeld 02-22-2015 07:40 PM


Originally Posted by 87thhunter (Post 15113354)
I'll call my local jy they give me a lot of free parts or really good deals, due to where I work - have a deal between business and they pass it onto me!!!
But I'll look and see what people have so all I need then is a limited slip out of another axle???? Everything else should be the same???

If you are going to use your gears, then yes. This axle was used for many years. They changed the pinion length in '93, but if you are using your gears that won't matter.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.


© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands