Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Ford Inline Six, 200, 250, 4.9L / 300 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum52/)
-   -   Firing order problem for my 4.9L inline 6 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1309739-firing-order-problem-for-my-4-9l-inline-6-a.html)

DarrellA 04-16-2014 11:47 AM

Firing order problem for my 4.9L inline 6

I'm new to mechanics and have my father in law teaching me how to work on my truck. I recently bought a 95 ford F150 4.9L inline 6. Since I've bought the truck it has felt like it was missing some while I was driving and when I first accelerated from a stop. My father in law told me a tune up would probably fix it right up. That's were all the problems started!! My father in law owns 5 Chevy trucks and hasn't worked on a ford before till mine. I guess since doing a tune up was like second nature to him he took all the spark plug wires off the distributer cap while changing out the old one for the new one and then got half way through putting the spark plug wires back on before he realized he was using his 6 cylinder Chevy firing order. So I looked up the firing order for my truck which is 1-5-3-6-2-4 for my inline 6. When we tried to crank it the truck would not start. We spent about 2 hours trying to mix the spark plug wires around trying to find the number 1 spark plug starting point and nothing seemed to worked. We have checked all the spark plugs and all are gapped correctly for my truck at .044. I went online trying to figure out what was going on when I came across the firing order for a regular 6 cylinder which is 1-4-2-5-3-6. So we decided to try that just to see the truck would start. Sure enough the truck started right up with that firing order but the truck is running horrible!! It's missing extremely bad. My question is why is the firing order for a regular 6 cylinder cranking my truck and the firing order that's supposed to be for my inline 6 not