Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum28/)
-   -   5 Speed Manual Won't Shift (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1295028-5-speed-manual-wont-shift.html)

mikeinsnoho 02-01-2014 07:32 PM

5 Speed Manual Won't Shift

Newbie here. Tried searches, but always got 500 pages of threads.

The battery on my 1995 F-150 300 CI six with 5 speed manual went dead when I tried starting it two months ago in really cold weather, so I let it sit. I jumped it the other day and it started fine. But the transmission is stuck in neutral. I can move the shifter to all positions, but it won't go into any gear. I just has the slave cylinder replaced a couple of years ago and I know what it was like when that started to go. That was gradual. This was all of a sudden.

Could just sitting for a couple of months cause something like this? Does anyone know what this could be?

Thanks,

Mike

mikeinsnoho 02-18-2014 05:28 AM

I told a friend's brother about my problem and he said sometimes the clutch will adhere to the flywheel. He said hos old truck did this when it sat too long. Maybe it can be affected by moisture (I live in Western Washington and we do have rainy winters)?

He said I might be able to remove the bell housing pan and pry it loose. I haven't looked under there yet to see if it has such a pan. I hope I don't have to drop the tranny.

Has anyone else had this happen and have a good way to un-seize the clutch plate?

Thanks,

Mike

blue924.9 02-18-2014 07:58 AM