Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Arizona Chapter (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum80/)
-   -   my 1992 F-350 thread (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1259763-my-1992-f-350-thread.html)

b19gale 08-05-2013 09:24 PM

my 1992 F-350 thread

I have a 92 F350 Crew Cab 2wd with a 351w (5.8l) E4OD and a 10.5" rear diff(4.10?). I bought it cheap with a known tranny issue. Instead of making a different thread every time I trouble shot or add/replace something I will do it all in this thread :-X03 will also get pictures on here as well of components tested and simple version explanations of any testing done on anything. This truck has alot of little stuff with it, and one major issue This may be fun.
Be warned this is going to be a long thread time-wise as I am currently a student looking for work with a wife and 2 kids so money and time is short and hard to come by.

First thing is first, Overdrive...With O/D off transmission works fine with a little late shift feel for 2/3 upshift. However with O/D on 1-3 in the "D" range are not there but manual 1-2 are. If you take off with O/D off and get to 35+mph and hit the O/D switch the truck will go into 4th(o/d)gear.
Tests so far have been:
MLPS/TR and it was out of wack at start, adjusted and its in range now.
Wires from the lever inside the steering column were broke and have been repaired(no pics ever they are ugly fixed o.0) with that came a new switch and retainer clip for switch.
MAP tested and passed
Only code pulled was for MLPS out of range; which has been fixed.
So now to my knowledge the only thing left to check before dropping the tranny for a rebuild is the solenoid pack, and if I don;'t get lucky and that fixes it I will be forced to rebuild a E4OD, which I am sure much to the wifes fears means I will have to buy a tool or twenty :-jammin