Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   2004 - 2008 F150 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum24/)
-   -   Washing underside of truck what should I be careful of? (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1164222-washing-underside-of-truck-what-should-i-be-careful-of.html)

Vic_Young 05-24-2012 12:52 PM

Washing underside of truck what should I be careful of?

I live in a mountainous region where we get a lot of snow and because of that the roads get salted a lot. I want to give the underside of the truck a good washing this summer to wash away all the salts and road grime. I have never done it before and I want to be careful not to harm something I shouldn't or put water or soap somewhere it should not be. I have a pressure washer, would it be safe to use it? What kind of soap to use? Just regular Meguiars wash shampoo?

Thanks

danorules 05-24-2012 03:12 PM

I think the soap should be fine regardless of what you use. I would try and be careful around the rockers. The plastic sill plates in the cab just clip into the floor, and with a pressure washer you might blow that sill plate up and inadvertently fill your cab with water

MCDavis 05-24-2012 05:21 PM

Personally, I think the pressure washer is overkill. A good thorough spray down with a typical garden hose and a nozzle should be sufficient. Be most careful of the engine bay.

Vic_Young 05-24-2012 05:42 PM

Great tips, I'll forgo the pressure washer and just scrub everything down with some soap and rinse with a high pressure spray nozzle. I will pay extra attention when I'm under the engine bay.

Thanks a lot guys :-X22

SuperDutyScaler 05-24-2012 05:53 PM