Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum170/)
-   -   RUH ROH...this can't be good! Bent rod; cracked arm!! (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1162731-ruh-roh-this-cant-be-good-bent-rod-cracked-arm.html)

FallstonYJ 05-17-2012 06:15 PM

RUH ROH...this can't be good! Bent rod; cracked arm!!

2 Attachment(s)
Well, this is my first time removing injectors and it was going along pretty smoothly removing the injectors on my 96 7.3 PSD until I got to the number 3 cylinder. My hand brushed against the rocker arm and it was loose. I then noticed that the push rod was loose and I could simply pull it right out of the head. Noticed a little while later that the rocker arm itself is cracked in three places. Not sure what to make of this.....anyone ever seen anything like this before? Any thoughts about what to do now short of having to pull the whole engine?

This is not turning out to be the deal I thought it would be. Paid $5K for this truck about three months ago and now have at least $3k in repairs/parts and now this!! :-arrgh

Attachment 55146

Attachment 55147

fordpride 05-17-2012 06:20 PM

That is most likely from being reved to high

rodneywar 05-17-2012 06:21 PM

i would just replace the rocker arm and pushrod but thats just me imo

fordpride 05-17-2012 06:27 PM

X2 ^^^^^^^^^^

FallstonYJ 05-17-2012 06:28 PM

Originally Posted by fordpride (Post 11846039)
That is most likely from being reved to high

The truck has been sitting in my driveway for weeks while I researched and waited for parts. I am wondering if my 18 year old son couldn't help himself and decided to start it and rev it like he does my jeep??

FallstonYJ 05-17-2012 06:30 PM

Originally Posted by rodneywar (Post 11846046)
i would just replace the rocker arm and pushrod but thats just me imo