Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   6.7L Power Stroke Diesel (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum205/)
-   -   Fuel water separator draining (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1100348-fuel-water-separator-draining.html)

p12483 09-18-2011 08:19 AM

Fuel water separator draining

I am new to diesels as far as ownership. How often should I be draining my water separator. I have no indicator lights. Saw ricks trouble with possible warranty denial due to water in fuel so wanted to check and see. Only have 1100 miles and 3 fillups.

Tom 09-18-2011 08:33 AM

It's recommended that you drain the fuel/water separator once a month to remove contaminants. See page 67 of your diesel supplement! :-X22

dschuffert 09-18-2011 09:57 AM

It is always a good practice to get into a preventive maintenance routine with these trucks. I go back to my old Army days where there was a specific routine for each piece of equipment before it was operated. I do the same with this truck and my farm equipment. Everyone is different and has their own way of doing things. At minimum, I recommend you follow the manual for the different maintenance tasks.

kper05 09-18-2011 02:07 PM

I drain mine monthly.
The low cost of lost diesel is much cheaper than a new fuel system.

GCLL 09-18-2011 02:10 PM

Doesn't the computer let you know when it needs drained?

Tom 09-18-2011 02:36 PM

Originally Posted by GCLL (Post 10823209)

There is a sensor, but you're still supposed to drain it monthly. If there is water sitting in the DFCM there is a higher likelihood that too much water will make it past the filter and into the high pressure fuel system. This can cause rust, pump failure, injector failure, and other very expensive problems. The 6.7L engine with it's Bosch system seems to be more resilient, but I wouldn't want to find out the hard way!

F2502011 09-19-2011 05:01 AM