Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum31/)
-   -   What temp do you plug in (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1099927-what-temp-do-you-plug-in.html)

kawcrasher 09-16-2011 12:14 PM

What temp do you plug in

This will be my first winter with this truck. I have lots of experience the Diesels, but not the PSD. My other Diesel's all are different for when they need plugged in so I'm sure this one will be too. At what temp do you guys plug in overnight and what temp do you need to plug in at work (10 hours)? I'm thinking 30 for overnight and 5 for work?

Currently the Big OTR Series 60 gets the cord at 35, it will start easy into the twenty's (has a Quick start system on it Quick Start Products & Solutions | Diesel Engine Ether Injection Systems )but the neighbors don't like not being able to see. The old 12V Cummins p/u liked it around twenty,but you'd freeze waiting for heat. And the Kubota will light right off at -10, if the fuel will flow.

ToMang07 09-16-2011 12:18 PM

I have a timer, and I set it to turn on 2.5 hours before I need to leave, and I only set it when it is 35* or below. Don't really need it till the 20's, but it helps save the batteries a little. Don't forget some Anti-gel additive, I loke the Power Service/Diesel Kleen in the white bottle. Had it as low as -25* (Cold Start) with no gelling issues. :-X22

SteveH-CO 09-16-2011 12:42 PM

Now that I have synthetic oil, I won't be as paranoid, but below 30-ish is where I plug in. I don't drive it every day, so I can plan ahead the night before and set it up on a timer to come on at 3 AM.

nlemerise 09-16-2011 12:47 PM