Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1999 to 2016 Super Duty (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum30/)
-   -   how to use my dvd player in my nav while in drive (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1084338-how-to-use-my-dvd-player-in-my-nav-while-in-drive.html)

dennd 07-18-2011 08:23 PM

how to use my dvd player in my nav while in drive

Hello There,
I have a 2011 F350 Super Duty Diesel with navigation. The dvd only plays in park for safety reasons. I want to be able to watch dvd's in drive while in line ups like to the border etc.. I was told it is only cut one wire or something very simple. Can someone tell me how to do this. Maybe you know of a you tube video or can explain it simply. I am a mechanic so it will not be a problem.

ebexp94 07-18-2011 08:42 PM

I have heard in the past that if your ground the parking brake, it will allow you to pull this off. Hoever, this is only for aftermarket units, I doubt the factory unit reads the status of the parking brake, probably the transmission.

http://www.coastaletech.com/synclockpick.htm
I googled and found this. It's far from cheap, but may be the only option for such a new vehicle with such complex technology.

I am a software engineer with one of Microsofts partner companies, and while I personally have never had anything to do with Sync, I highly doubt you will be able to mechanically overcome this systems safety/security features.

ebexp94 07-18-2011 08:44 PM

Excuse the spelling in my above post. I am on my cell phone. (mobile version of FTE has no Edit feature!)

Also, I'm not trying to shoot you down or anything, just giving my opinion.

awq134 07-18-2011 11:54 PM