Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Washington Chapter (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum188/)
-   -   Truck Shopping in WA ('73-'77) (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1080750-truck-shopping-in-wa-73-77-a.html)

highwayman507 07-05-2011 10:05 PM

Truck Shopping in WA ('73-'77)

Hello, as you can see I am a new member here on FTE. I apologize if this is not the appropriate location for this post. However, I wanted to get localized feedback on my question.

I am currently shopping for a 1973-77 F250 4x4. I am in the Everett area but I have looked at several pickups all over that state. I am looking for something that has minimal rust or dents. However, I am not looking for a cherry pickup, just not something that will need require a full restoration project as I am pretty new to wrench-turning as well.

I have never purchased an older vehicle before. After doing some research I feel like I may be able to get something decent for between $3,000 to $5,000. My question is - in this area - what type of vehicle can I expect to get in this price range? It also feels like this particular truck can be difficult to find without a ton of aftermarket parts on it. Should I expect to pay more for an all original truck with some dents/rust than I would on a repainted and 1/2 restored project?

If anyone here could help me out with a list of items look out for or pitfalls to avoid (particular to this model or when buying older vehicles in general) I would be appreciative.

52 Merc 07-10-2011 11:05 PM

Welcome to the forum!