Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Large Truck (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum232/)
-   -   1978 ford f600 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1077160-1978-ford-f600.html)

thetucks 06-22-2011 12:16 AM

1978 ford f600

Hey guys newbie here. My father in law and I just bought this 78 ford f600 dump truck to haul some rock and topsoil around our property. The problem is the brakes. They don't work. We have replaced the master cylinder. All 4 front wheel cylinders. And bled all the brakes. Still goes to the floor on the first push. Builds up on the second. Im thinking the rear brakes need adjusted. My question is how do you get the drums off the rear wheels on this thing? Do you have to pull the axles? If yes how do you do that? Thanks for any help.

powerstroke72 06-22-2011 12:18 AM

Moved to the Large Truck forum.

thetucks 06-29-2011 07:49 AM

Ok guys im loosing my mind here. not that theres much to loose. I have got the wheels all off and adjusted. I still cant seem to get a solid pedal. i found out the brake booster under the cab was out. took it to get rebuilt. put it back in and still no pedal. turns out it was not rebuilt right. took it back again and they gave me a different one. put it on and still no pedal. turns out it is bad too. so I put a line in bypassing the brake booster. bled the brakes and still no pedal. goes strait to the floor. can someone tell me how to bleed the brakes correctly? maybe im not doing it right. thanks.

Rusty_Old_F250 06-29-2011 12:58 PM

Could it be you just don't have enough fluid in the system? That F600 is a big truck, it takes a lot of fluid to fill up all those lines, hoses and wheel cylinders. You could have a leak somewhere else in the system. On my pickup the line to the rear brakes had rusted completely in half!