Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum28/)
-   -   some help with oil in coolant (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1043111-some-help-with-oil-in-coolant.html)

mellowfe 02-22-2011 09:06 PM

some help with oil in coolant

Hi everybody, been finding great info on this site for the past few months but this is the first time I've had to post for some help. Sorry for the long initial post (i'm a prior flight engineer so I'm used to writing long write up's for mechanics lol) but I'm sure there's some of you that can give some advice before I tear this engine open, which I rather not do.

Bought a 96 f150 4.9l with 136k a few months ago since I'm moving to Wyoming in may and wanted a 4x4 truck to get around. Spent the last few months giving her a good tune up and fixing her up. Here's my current problem through, tried searching but couldn't find anything exactly relating to my situation....

a few days ago I flushed and replaced the coolant as one of the last things I had wanted to do before I figured she was good to go. Well, drove her for about a hour to the beach and back and she ran fine, no smoke, no cooling problems, everything seemed normal. Went back to the check the coolant the next day while it was cold and noticed a few things.