Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum31/)
-   -   Good deal on an '01 F250? (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1037933-good-deal-on-an-01-f250.html)

BoilerGirl 02-08-2011 08:53 AM

Good deal on an '01 F250?

Hello all, newbie here looking for advice.

Looking to purchase my first diesel - excited! I've found a 2001 F250 Lariat Supercab short bed that looks like a gem. 7.3L (obviously) with 230K and a 5spd tranny.

The listing just says "This F-250 is a loaded Lariat, 4x4, e-cab, with a 7.3 powerstroke, good tires, many newer updates (ball joints, brakes, clutch, etc...) only a 2 owner and a local trade." So she seems pretty stock except for the maintenance, no chips or other mods.

I'm trying to get service records on it today, is there anything specifically with this year I should be looking out for? She's priced around $5k below what Kbb says she should be, which makes me curious if people around here are just scared of the miles or there's underlying issues. What could I expect mileage wise out of her?

Would be taking my truck guy with me to look at her.

Ponyboychris 02-08-2011 08:56 AM

Welcome to FTE. Scan through this thread for some things to look at the truck. Is your truck guy a diesel truck guy? It makes a difference in knowing issues with gassers over diesels. And post up anything about the truck. Lots and lots of people here that can help!

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/5...questions.html

BoilerGirl 02-08-2011 09:22 AM

Yup, would be a diesel truck guy. Another friend has the same year and motor with a 350 and loves it so I have high hopes. I'll check out that thread, thanks!

00Dave 02-08-2011 09:27 AM