Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum28/)
-   -   How hard can it be? (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1011286-how-hard-can-it-be.html)

markplusone 11-17-2010 02:28 PM

How hard can it be?

Ok just so we all get off on the right foot, I have no experience in building engines. The farthest Ive ever gone was replacing the head gaskets on my 351W. What I want to ask and tap everyones expertise with is how to make a stroker out of it. I thought originally that a stroker was an engine option direct from ford. Now I see there are kits to modify a 351W to a stroker with different displacement options. What I want is a big torque monster without having to buy a different/standalone EEC or any other mods Stock everything else. (was thinking about a mild cam as well.) So what displacement should I look at using with pump gas and stock everything else? Are these kits just bolt in kits? Time isnt an issue. Money is but I dont want a 460ci. anchor up front. Is there something Im missing already? My plan is to buy a 351W out of the junkyard (u-pull it 150.00), have it bored and honed. Then rebuild from there. I still plan on using my C6 transmission because its in fine condition and the 4.10 gears are good as well. Just want to get some more beef without reving high to get it. In fact the farthest up the tach Ive ever seen my engine was 4200rpm. So, how nuts is it to do this.

Zack88 11-17-2010 02:46 PM