Sponsored by: Moser

Brake Valve | Proportional Valve | Differential Valve Information

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2010, 10:57 PM
NC2X4
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brake Valve | Proportional Valve | Differential Valve Information

Over the past 2 days I have been trying to isolate my brake problem and reached out on some help on the form. Got many responses to this problem. It was the combined answers that lead me closer to this problem.
After searching for past posts on Proportional Valve & Differential Valve I also found many people searching for answers to the same type part with varied problems. I could not find any information to help me. MikeoOoOoO was the most informative about this issue.

I am a simple person and no expert by any means. In fact I know almost nothng about trucks and engines, I'm a carpenter by trade. So I often ask myself why I bought this 77 F100 to restore however I am finding it fun and the people on this site are very helpful.

So in the future others my find this information I am posting what I have found about this issue so far.

As MikeoOoOoO said the proportional valve is used to mediate the flow of brake fluid to the rear and front brakes. If one fails the vealve has a piston in it that automaticly moves to the low pressure side closing it off to not have a total brake failure. Meaning if you were driving down a road and something clipped you rear brakes (or front) the valve would quickly close the line to the rear so the front still maintain pressure. If you clip both front and back at the same time you need to thrust your feet through the floor board and Flintstone stop the truck.

Now these valves were used on many vehicles during the time so this applies to all vehicles with this type valve.