1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

'51 F1 on Kijiji... Good Deal?

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2010, 10:48 PM
markthompson999
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'51 F1 on Kijiji... Good Deal?

Hey guys, this is my first time posting on here... looks like there's a bunch of knowledgeable guys and I need some opinions!

Saw this truck advertised on Kijiji for $4500... has a 440 Mopar engine with double tunnel ram and a pair edelbrock 650cfm carbs, but no tranny. I would rather stick with a Ford engine so I asked if he would sell just the body, which he said he would for "around $1800".

Went and looked at the truck today, and it doesn't look quite as good in person as it does in these pics, but it's still in pretty good shape. It looks like he painted right over some surface rust in all the usual locations, but there are no spots on the body where it's rusted right through. The body and frame are both straight, but the tailgate is gone and the bed of the box is pretty much non-existant. He has most of the trim in pieces in a wheelbarrow in his shed. The interior is pretty much untouched - there are no guages for the dash and the seats in the pic have not been bolted down, they're just sitting there in the cab (out of a '91 RamCharger, same as the rims). In the attached pics it's a piece of carpet hanging out the door onto the running boards. Most of the glass needs to be replaced as well. The brakes and suspension are all stock.

I think he'll come down to $1200-1300... if I can, is the body worth this much? Any advice would be much appreciated!

Attached Images    
Old 07-20-2010, 11:02 PM
52 Merc
Hotshot
Received 2,449 Likes on 1,396 Posts