1993 7.3L IDI losing prime

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2016, 02:27 PM
Romel1088
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1993 7.3L IDI losing prime

Hi,
I am no mechanic, but have of recent decided to start learning and start working on my own stuff. I say this so if you answer you do not assume I understand acronyms or anything else for that matter.

I have a 1993 F250 with the International 7.3L idi engine non turbo charged.
A bit of background to the problem I am posting about.
I recently had the sending units changed out because the fuel gauges did not work. Prior to that happening by about a month, the truck started starting hard. After I had the sending units replaced it really began starting hard especially if it sat over night.

Recently got the time and started trying to debug and do some maintenance at the same time. so far I have done the following with the help of a mechanic buddy. My friend recently had a bad heart attack so I am on my own again.

Replaced the return lines (they were leaking)
Replaced the glow plugs and the glow plug relay
Replaced the injectors (two were leaking)
Rebuilt the filter pump housing
Replaced the lift pump.

As a result of all the hard starting I replaced the starter too.

Absolutely no difference in starting. It will restart pretty good if it has only sat for a few hours, but if it has sat all night I can count on running the batteries flat, charging and finally getting it going on the first recharge if done within an hour or so.

Once it is running it runs really well and stays running smoothly.

Could this be a partially clogged fuel line? It and the injector pump are just about the only things I have not replaced. Could it be sourced in an improperly installed sending unit?

Would switching over to an electric fuel pump end this pain in the butt? I have seen that quite a number of folks have done this.

Old 03-21-2016, 03:57 PM
ctbiodzl
Senior User
If you haven't already replace the fuel filter.