OEM carb spacer - Make the pain stop!

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2010, 08:03 PM
palehorse13
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
OEM carb spacer - Make the pain stop!

How do you guys do it?! I am a Chevy mechanic by training and experienec but I bought a 1973 Ford 3/4 ton F-250 4WD pick up from a friend. It has an FE 360 motor and 2 bbl and had only 37K on the clock when I bought it. It used to be a brush fire fire truck.

It is an awesome truck BUT it is the bane of my existence!

It has had an intake manifold leak, an exhaust manifold leak, a timing chain cover leak, a rear main seal leak. It started pushing oil out the dipstick and when I finally ended up taking it into a shop they spent several weeks tring to figure out what was going wrong with it and ended up rebuilding it. When they tore it down they said they found 5 of the 8 pistons had the ring gaps aligned rather than staggered!

In any case I got it back from them and it was running fine (for about 15 minutes) and then it started acting like it had a vacuum leak. I looked and looked and looked and couldnt see anything so i pulled off the carb and rebuilt it. When I put it back on it was running worse! I pulled it back off and then I noticed some discoloration around the spacer plate and the manifold. I pulled off the spacer and there was a small pile of carbon. I looked at the spacer and the (right rear) corner had a piece missing which I asssume was/is my vacuum leak.

Have you seen this before?!

Do I need an exorcist?!

Where can I get a replacement spacer and gaskets?

Thanks,

Scott

Old 04-08-2010, 10:08 PM
Hypoid
Cargo Master
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I have to wonder if this is an EGR spacer. I've read they have a reputation for corroding away.

Does the intake have a round hole under the corner that is bad?

Old 04-09-2010, 08:05 AM
palehorse13
Freshman User

Thanks for the quick response.

This is NOT an EGR spacer.