1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Heater core went... but could I have caused it?

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2010, 04:58 PM
cnice_37
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Heater core went... but could I have caused it?

Short story shorter - took my '86 F250 / 351 4x4 down the road about 2 miles to give her a weekly ride and drink of gas.

At the pump I noticed the windshield fogging up something serious - pop the hood and see antifreeze pissing out from under the heater core. This seems normal, nothing to worry about (aside from some $$.)

OK - but I'm new to this girl, and last week I hooked up the PVS controlling the distributor advance like this:
top (furthest from thread) : manifold
center - to dizzy advance
bottom (at threads) : carb spark advance

Reason I hooked it up this way way to allow for cold start via manifold advance then normal operation under ported vac.

Turns out the line from heater core connects right next to this PVS.

Did I somehow cause an overheat condition?

Does anyone else hook up the PVS like this, or should I just try straight ported OR straight manifold right to the dizzy?

Thanks
-CV

Old 02-20-2010, 05:25 PM
81-F-150-Explorer
Post Fiend
Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
Some of the PVS's are hooked that way from the factory, so I wouldnt worry to much about that causing the heater core to blow.

It was possibly just it's time to blow.

Old 02-20-2010, 06:06 PM
PaulzF150
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I just replaced the HC in my '85. It was the original. The nozzles were corroded and coolant was not flowing correctly. When you replace your HC lubricate those nozzles so the heater hoses slide on nice and easy. That metal is soft, you have to be gentle with it.

Old 02-20-2010, 09:00 PM
Franklin2
Received 1,660 Likes on 1,342 Posts