1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

My build game plan (complete with bad photoshops!)

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2010, 09:45 PM
Stephen67
Postmaster
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
My build game plan (complete with bad photoshops!)

I need my truck to be a business truck, but I'm a blacksmith artist, my truck needs to say what I can do even if I'm not building trucks for a living.

Since day one I've wanted to go 4x4, I'll need it. Plus large tires and a low stance looks awesome.

I've toyed with darkside ideas, like hood vents with some early 60s style, but today I'm really leaning towards really keeping that '50s feel, even if everything under the sheet metal will have to be more modern.

Most the work I build is heavy, big and awkward. For that reason I'm also going to build a trailer and just tow with my truck. A flat-bed might be easier for some stuff, especially if you have a fork lift, but when it's just man power walking off a trailer or trying to get it off a bed 4' up becomes pretty clear. Plus it allows me more style, I feel in love with all of the '56, I don't want to give up the bed, it changes too much.

I plan on customizing a 73-79 short bed, or a '53-72 long bed, or really just making the thing myself. I want it about 6' or so, but wider and taller than the old shortbeds. In my opinion it looks a lot better, plus the room would be handy.

Going to be red, possibly candy apple red over gold. I'll either do some door art with my business logo or put it on the bed stakes if I use those. And the tail gate. Look something like this... only less horribly photoshopped:

with a different bumper...

Yeah you've seen that truck before, if anyone is board and wants to up me on photoshop:

I just like a low ride and large tires. Always been my thing.