Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Cranks no start - Then it will?!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2010, 02:58 AM
Two by Ford
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cranks no start - Then it will?!!

Hi all, Noob here and I am very happy to see all the things I am experiencing here so I can start fixin'. My '03 F-350 7.3 4x4 has had me scratchin' my head 5 or 6 times this year. I have 137k+ miles on it. I'll drive somewhere, park for 10 minutes or so and when I try to start it'll crank like there is no tomorrow but won't start. Then after fooling for 20-30 mins it starts. By fooling I mean checking fuses, battery connections, pushing/pulling on wiring harnesses and connectors. No one thing seems to fix it. I've read about the CPS, Low Voltage, Fuel Pump but don't read anywhere that these things could be intermittent. My WTS light works and I hear what seems to be all the normal noises when I turn the key on. Oil level is good, plenty o' fuel. What if any or all of these things be intermittent as described or where to start lookin'? Thanks.

Old 01-02-2010, 05:43 AM
andrewc53
Senior User
Welcome to the site,
There is a wiring harness over the drivers side valve cover that can rub on the valve cover and short. you can check that. I had a problem with a short and took apart all the connectors and used a small amount of dielectric grease on them and fixed my problem. A Curtis

Old 01-02-2010, 09:21 AM
DieselCamper01
Fleet Owner
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Welcome to FTE. I have a similar issue but it always starts after turning the key to off and then retrying. Wish I could help. Here is a bump back to the top though.

Old 01-02-2010, 06:33 PM
Two by Ford
Junior User