6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

fuel leak 04 e450 6.0l "manbulance"

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2012, 11:13 PM
Bseeton1
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
fuel leak 04 e450 6.0l "manbulance"

my 04 e450 6.0l 96k"manbulance" sprung a leak on the fuel system on the road today makin a run back from cali to oklahoma. Was makin the I-70 transition in colorado and noticed the smell of diesel and then smoke,pulled over and diesel streaming at a good pace with the key on,looks to be somewhere above my compressor and twin alternators is where the area of the leak origionates fars as I was able to see. I'm a newb admittedly so my question is where exactly is that secondary fuel element? Had the 90 k service done in cali,(94.8k) fuel filters,oil,trans,rear diff etc..was talkin with a friend who says the plastic housing on the filters are prone to crack/break with improper removal/installation. the van style 6.0 is so crowded I can't get an eye ball on much of anything. Somebody point me in the right direction please, i'm not stranded but i'm stuck here till I get this straightened out. I'm up all night till I figure this out.....and if your any where near brighton,co I'll make it worth your while

Old 03-25-2012, 12:11 AM
Bseeton1
New User
watched a you tube video got a general idea where to look for filter will look in the morning, still think the e450 van style 6.0l location to be different than what i saw on an f250 6.0l.....

Old 03-25-2012, 10:23 AM
mhoefer
Postmaster
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts