Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need help sealing electrical for mudding

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2009, 11:11 PM
95f250
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need help sealing electrical for mudding

Ok I have 95 f250 standard cab longbed with a 351 Windsor and 33-12.50 brand new mud tires on 16x10 eagle alloys I'm new to mudding so I need to know exactly what to do to my truck to make it able to handle some mud electricly or anything else u have to do please help I need it fast

Old 08-29-2009, 11:27 PM
SaikotikGunman
Posting Guru
Check the seals on your differentials, and if you're going through deep mud/water, check and change gear oil regularly. Same for lube on pretty much everything up front, too. Every time anything with grease in it goes underwater on my truck, I re-grease it thoroughly. Muddy water is a nasty nasty thing, as noted last time I took my front manual hubs apart. While we're at it, that big O-ring under the cap on the manual hubs should be checked and replaced if necessary.

Make sure all the shielding is in place to keep mud/water from being shot up into the engine compartment by the tires. But mud will still find its way in there. You can use inner-tube and cable ties to make hoods to protect ignition components, sensors, etc. While a previous owner of one of my trucks decided it'd be a good idea to silicone the distributor cap down, I'm not sure I'd suggest that, as getting it back off is a pain in the ***.

Old 08-30-2009, 12:11 AM
9.ford.5
Postmaster
yeah but on the other hand you need to find some way to seal up the engine control box and that could be a pain im still trying to find somethin i could retro fit in there that would seal that biotch up (i think i might be able to use the seals from the air cleaners in the big rigs at work, if/when i make this work i will show you)