Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks

92 F150 5.0 Auto... Be gentle, it's my first time...

Old 08-24-2009, 10:14 PM
cmcolfax
Senior User
cmcolfax is starting off with a positive reputation.
92 F150 5.0 Auto... Be gentle, it's my first time...

...wrenching on a Ford.

If any of you saw my "Intro" post, you know I am basically a "Jeep Guy"; who bought himself a Ford pickup.

But I couldn't get something EASY to wrench on... like, say, a carb'ed 300 straight six with an NP435 manual tranny.

NO, I had to go get an early EFI 5.0 with a dang computer controlled Automatic too (E4OD if my research is correct).

Anyway, I have been :bumping: a number of threads that may be useful as FINALLY start to dive in to this thing this week.

It got new sneakers a coupla weeks ago since the ones it came with barely held air.

31 x 10.50 BFG-AT look-a-likes from TreadWright.

The inside of the cab is currently piled up with parts.

TO DO LIST:

Plugs/Wires/Cap/Rotor
Air filter
5 QTS Valvoline High Mileage 10w30
1 QT Marvel Mystery Oil
Purolator PureONE oil filter
Front brake pads
Rear brake shoes
Rear wheel cylinders & hardware kits

Wednesday's game plan is to D/C the battery to clear codes, do the "tune up" and oil change, clean the TB and IAC then re-connect everything and pull the codes per the FFI website and go from there.

Known issues:

Strong smell of coolant after engine has been running and up to full operating temp. No obvious leaks.

CEL comes on after running/driving for 10-15 minutes. Hopefully clearing the old codes and "tune up" will solve this.

Trans feels like it drops in to OD as soon as I let off the throttle. Have to "floor it" / go hard WOT to get it to kick back down. Thinking possible MLPS issue, but have not checked codes.