Help buying a new truck for towing

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2009, 04:17 AM
jablay
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help buying a new truck for towing

Hi guys,

First of all, I am a newbie here and in the truck world and i dont know much about them. Also this is my first post on the forum. Anyways, I will be buying a truck sometimes this week but I am not sure of what I need. I will be using the truck to tow sedans with a 18ft or 20ft for a 1000+ miles trip. I have looked at this ad http://chicago.craigslist.org/wcl/cto/1287407506.html and im wondering if this bad boy will be good enough for me to use. I like ford trucks and I've read a little bit about how the 460 engine is good for towing, but then I am still a newbie and I dont understand jack.

thanks a lot for the help guys i appreciated.

Old 07-28-2009, 10:05 AM
frankyford
Elder User
I would think it would sit up to high, what kind of trlr are you pulling. Is it fifth wheel or a reciever hitch. Have you thought about getting a diesel, it would last alot longer and get better fuel mileage. Towing in that thing youll get about 7-8mpg if you lucky maybe 10-11 with out and those tanks are not that big, so you'll be stopping alot to get gas. It looks like a good buy for a hobby truck, I just wouldn't use it for tow applications. hope this helps

Old 07-28-2009, 10:45 AM
jablay
New User
Originally Posted by frankyford
I would think it would sit up to high, what kind of trlr are you pulling. Is it fifth wheel or a reciever hitch. Have you thought about getting a diesel, it would last alot longer and get better fuel mileage. Towing in that thing youll get about 7-8mpg if you lucky maybe 10-11 with out and those tanks are not that big, so you'll be stopping alot to get gas. It looks like a good buy for a hobby truck, I just wouldn't use it for tow applications. hope this helps