1997-2006 Expedition & Navigator 1997 - 2002 and 2003 - 2006 Ford Expedition and Lincoln Navigator Discussion

99 Expedition Overheating - Afghanistan

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2009, 02:47 AM
pzmotorsports
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
99 Expedition Overheating - Afghanistan

First of all I will like to say hello to everyone on this great forum! It is my first time posting. I am currently overseas in <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comffice:smarttags" /><st1:country-region w:st="on"><st1lace w:st="on">Afghanistan</st1lace></st1:country-region> and my wife is having an overheating problem with our 99 Expedition 5.4L. <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><o></o>
<o></o>
The problem started about 2 months ago when the hot weather started back home in <st1:City w:st="on"><st1lace w:st="on">San Antonio</st1lace></st1:City> (100 to 105 degrees average). Under normal driving speed she noticed the truck running sluggish for a few minutes then noticed the temp. gauge in the danger zone. She let it cool down then drove it home (about 10 min. drive). The next morning I told her to check the reservoir and yes it was empty. It took about 1 1/2 gallon of 50/50 coolant water mix. <o></o>
<o></o>
Before this problem started, I do not know when was the last time the coolant level was check since I been gone, my wife takes it to walmart for oil changes since its convenient for her, but she just found out that they do not check the coolant!! It ran fine for the last two months until last weekend when it over heated again, more fluids were added to the reservoir and its reading at the proper level, but the truck has not been used since it last overheated. It has about 114,000 miles and the radiator was flushed at 90,000 miles.<o></o>
<o></o>