Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1996 F250 runs briefly then shuts off...driving me nuts

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2009, 12:52 AM
Egoleary
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1996 F250 runs briefly then shuts off...driving me nuts

Hey all, I'm completely new to the world of Ford, and just recently picked up a '96 F250 from a friend of mine. It drove home just fine, and for a couple days after that it had no problems getting around town. One day, I hopped in, started her up and it ran great for about 15-20 seconds, then shut off. No sputtering or rough idle, just like I turned the ignition switch off.

I tried to start back up right away, but it just kept trying to turn over. I had to wait about a minute before it would fire again, but then it shut off just like the first time. I can hear the fuel pump come on when I turn the switch to the on position, then shut off after a few seconds. It does the same thing on both fuel tanks.

I replaced the fuel filter, but it still does it. Anyone have any idea what the issue might be?

Old 07-21-2009, 01:45 AM
DasCheckers
Elder User
Is your check engine light on?
This is where we will always start troubleshooting.
Have you checked all your fuses, including under the dash and under the hood?

Old 07-21-2009, 09:23 AM
Egoleary
New User
No, there's no CEL, that was the first thing I looked for. I'll check the fuses next.

Old 07-27-2009, 10:35 PM
JerseyMudIsFun
Senior User
dont 89's have 2 fuel pumps ? mine does on a 460. low pressure in tank, and high pressure on the frame, check that pump

Old 07-27-2009, 11:30 PM
ford2go
Cargo Master
Received 142 Likes on 87 Posts
If the computer doesn't get a signal that says that the engine is running, it won't restart the fuel pump after the initial 2 second squirt. That would probably make it quit after a few seconds.