Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Clutch pushed down too far to start?

Old 06-23-2009, 11:37 AM
Fat Donkey
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Clutch pushed down too far to start?

Hey guys, Newbie here with a newbie-caliber question/comment...

First off- 93 F150 extracab 4x4, 300ci, 5 speed, dual tanks, 130,000mi

The last 2 days I've been having a hell of a problem starting the truck. Plenty of battery power, when I rotate the ignition to Start, nothing happens except for 1 clicking noise. After trying over and over it finally engages the starter and starts right up, which is a good thing but does not inspire any confidence...

Anyways, today I was talking to a friend about it and compared the problem to the likes of trying to start a car with a manual transmission and not engaging the clutch. Long story short, I went out to the truck today and messed with a few things. Pushed the clutch pedal to the floor and same issue. Next try I pushed the clutch to where it was 2-3 inches shy of the floor and the truck started right up. Of course I thought this was a fluke so I tried to start it with the clutch fully engaged to the floor, nothing. Let up on the clutch a bit and whabam, started right up.

All I will ever own are manual vehicles and I have been through 6 manual vehicles thus far and have never owned a car that didn't start with the clutch fully depressed. Has anybody ever had the same issue? Is this normal or should I be worried?

Thanks!
Ryan

Old 06-23-2009, 11:44 AM
17fordguy
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
this sounds like more of a starter problem than a clutch problem i would call it dumb luck thats it started both those times. my advise would be to check all the wires going to the starter and battery and replace starter.

Old 06-23-2009, 12:03 PM
Fat Donkey
New User