Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2009, 12:03 PM
Copedawg
Lead Driver

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Here’s how I changed my rotors today.

Here’s how I changed my rotors today.
<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><o></o>
I am not a professional at all and I may have done something wrong. If anyone can add to this PLEASE do.
Ingredients:
Rags
2 rotors and new pads w/squeak indicators
Tire iron Jack and stand
Screwdriver set
Wrench and socket set
3.5mm hex wrench (Allen wrench)
Hub nut removal socket 4 pronged
“Small “side cut” pliers
2 hammers 1 BFH and 1 claw
Magnetic retriever
Large “C” clamp
<o></o>
I don’t know any torques for any of this I hope someone can add them later.
1<SUP>st</SUP> park truck under shade tree on level pavement. Break loose lug nuts. Jack truck up on the axel and set jack stand under axel (the stand is there for 2<SUP>nd</SUP> safety if jack fails). Finish taking off the lugs and remove tire.
Use a ½” wrench to remove the caliper the rest it on the leaf springs (don’t let it hang). Remove break pads. Then remove the caliper holders with a 22mm ratchet wrench (1/2” drive).