Notices
1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to diesels would like some advice.

Old 05-21-2009, 09:52 AM
murphym84
Senior User
murphym84 is starting off with a positive reputation.
New to diesels would like some advice.

Hello, I am new to owning a diesel. I have a 1999 F-250, 7.3 Auto. It has 154,000 on it and still going strong. I am looking to get better fuel mileage and would like to know what are some good tips. What air intake should I look at, and what kind of chip should I be shopping for? I would like to get a little more performance but don't want to blow my trans. What are some good upgrades to can do to make it last? I do a little pulling with it but nothing to heavy, just some old muscle cars here and there. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Matt

Old 05-21-2009, 10:10 AM
superduty4x4
Post Fiend
superduty4x4 has much to be proud ofsuperduty4x4 has much to be proud ofsuperduty4x4 has much to be proud ofsuperduty4x4 has much to be proud ofsuperduty4x4 has much to be proud ofsuperduty4x4 has much to be proud ofsuperduty4x4 has much to be proud ofsuperduty4x4 has much to be proud ofsuperduty4x4 has much to be proud of
Welcome Matt!
Lots of options on intakes. Best bang for the buck is a 6637 filter with a Pete's cover. You can order a complete kit from Clay (Riffraff Diesel) or buy the filters at Fleet Filter.com and order a cover from Pete (TruckMods). AFE Stage 2 is also a favorite here, but more $. If you do a lot of dusty conditions driving, look into the Ford AIS intake.
Chip- DP Tuner, Power Hungry Performance, and Total Diesel Performance are the best options. Again, Clay at Riffraff can get you setup with a DP Tuner, or get direct with Jody (owner).
Trans mods- either a new valve body (JW from ITP Diesel or BTS) are good choices, or you can do a Transgo Tugger or HD2 kit if you don't mind getting dirty. The valve body is just a bolt in and go mod, the shift kits are a bit more involved.