So how would I work this?

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2010, 11:17 PM
parks911
Cargo Master
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Smile So how would I work this?

As I'm typing this, I'm wondering if anyone remembers who I am. And if they do, are they willing to assist by sharing the knowledge?

Anyhow, Some here may remember who I am & even remember that I am a OTR truck driver. When I was posting here regularily, I was just a normal company schmuck & didn't really give a damn about the companies money. Well.... Now I am the company!

I own a Volvo 670 & am trying to figure out an alternative powersource. Fuel is to damn expensive to idle.... APU's cost up around 10K & still require fuel, oil, belts, alternators, & basic maintnance. I can't afford the start-up on a basic APU system.... What I'm thinking seem relatively easy in my mind. The problem is.... Will it actually work.

I have a 4 battery 12 volt starting system. I also have space & have already installed another battery tray that will accept another 4 batteries. Now originally I planned to mount 4 12v starting batteries in there. Then running a 3500 watt refrigerator off all 8 batteries. But I'm afraid by doing that, I may drain the batteries to a point where I won't have enough starting power.

So now I'm thinking about running 4 deep cycle batteries with the 3500 watt inverter. I was thinking running a jumper from my starter batteries to the deep cycle batteries so they could charge while I'm driving 600-700 miles a day. But then I resort back to option #1.... That will still drain my starter batteries while being shut down for 10 to 12 hours.