1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Getting my truck on dyno soon, any recomendations?

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2009, 10:46 AM
KLWdesigns
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Getting my truck on dyno soon, any recomendations?

I will be taking my truck to get dyno'd in a week or so, i'm wondering if there's anything I can do while i'm there to check performance wise. My intent is just to get a baseline idea of the horsepower my truck currently has. I'm not into big power performance mods, mostly for financial reasons, but if there's something simple I can do quickly while I'm there, like change to synthetic oil in the rear dif, or air intake heater delete plug, then that would be neat to see the numbers a mod actually did to help performance.

So if you have an idea to try, list it. This is my first time on a dyno, first diesel vehicle, post simple suggestions please.

Old 04-02-2009, 06:52 PM
makomaker
Elder User
Don't know but I will give you a bump.

Old 04-02-2009, 06:56 PM
12ozd
Posting Guru

I would be curious on air filter differences, one run on a dyno w/o a filter wouldn't hurt anything.

Probably the quickest "semi-mod" I can think of now.

Be sure to post your results / mods

Old 04-02-2009, 09:05 PM
ernesteugene
Postmaster
Check out ...My "unified explanation" for "all types" of dynos... and the graphs at the end of that Post #13 here... http://thedieselgarage.com/forums/sh...p?t=358&page=2 ...and note that if you use an inertial dyno you'll typically get a higher HP reading in your overdrive gear compared to your direct gear. However the resulting MPH in overdrive will exceed the speed rating of LT type tires so it's not the safest thing to do, and if your chip doesn't remove the speed limiter you can't use overdrive anyway!