General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

Starting plants for this year (Veggies)

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2009, 06:24 PM
Greywolf
Fleet Owner
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Starting plants for this year (Veggies)

I have a lot of seed starter trays from Ferry-Morse that I like to use for seedlings - each holds eight trays just like the ninepack seedlings come in at an arboretum or store. Right now I have five of them full, plans for three more, and potted plants starting besides.

I'm going to grow my tomatos on the back porch/deck in containers so the vines can be strung over the deck rail, and a biggy this year is going to be lots of rows of corn... I have cayenne and habernero seeds in some, chili's in others, and a lot of pumpkin seeds started.

Pumpkins I have no experience with at all...

But the temperatures are up outside, and I think the end of march should be ideal to get a "home vegetable department" up and going

Old 03-21-2009, 07:02 PM
jake00
FTE is my crack
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Damn, I wish it was warm enough here. I grew corn a coupla years ago, but the rabbits got to it before i did

Old 03-21-2009, 07:04 PM
cmpd1781
Post Fiend
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I've got 24 peat pots filled. 3 jalapeno, 3 habanero, 3 Cali bell peppers, and 3 sweet bell peppers....3 cayenne and 3 chili peppers.......In 6 large peat pots, I've got squash and eggplant........The squash are poking out right now, and the eggplant just started to show. The others are still hiding.

I'll plant those---as well as a dozen or so tomato plants, which I'll buy as plants and transplant.

I'm shooting for 4 weeks to plant. Already tilled the garden once.....I'll till it again about a week before I plant and put some lime down at that time......The soil is nice and rich. When I tilled it, I uncovered a carpet of nice, fat earthworms. The birdies were having a field day......

Old 03-21-2009, 07:08 PM
cmpd1781
Post Fiend