newbie 250 7.3 convert

Old 03-10-2009, 05:59 AM
48fordf3
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
newbie 250 7.3 convert

OK - I am thinking of buying an 89 F250 with the 7.3 and convert to biodiesel as part of an engineering /auto club for middle and high schoolers. Has anyone converted an 89 and what problems should I prepare for? It has an aftermarket turbo kit as well.

Not sure of start up and maintenance costs. I live in Mass so the cold seems to be an issue?

Thank you - Jeff

Old 03-10-2009, 12:16 PM
Rushmore X
Logistics Pro

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Not sure what you mean by converting. The first diesels ran on peanut oil, when its warm you can run on straight or waste vegetable oil (recommend filter and dewater), and biodiesel runs without modification. I ran 30% bio mix @ -10 a couple weeks ago.

Old 03-11-2009, 06:20 AM
48fordf3
Junior User
As I said - I am a newbie so my vocab may be foreign to you veterans of using veg oil. Even knowing the dewatering and filtering costs if I were to collect say fry oil from the local school would be great info to know the costs etc. I was hoping to use this project as a way for not only me to learn but also for students in an engineering, green, car club etc. to learn from also. If you could assist with helping me estimate costs and how the fuel injection of this year is better than a later year (after 94?) would be helpful. Was hoping someone with a similar year vehicle 1989 and engine actually has done this and is on FTE.

Thank you for your reply.

Old 03-11-2009, 07:36 AM
fabmandelux
Post Fiend
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
I've been making and using bio for over 5 years. I run my whole ranch with it. The only changes necessary to run it in a diesel engine made prior to 1994 is changing the rubber fuel lines and injector "o" rings over to Viton.

I recover 45% of the Methanol, and my costs average $1.20 per gallon.

If you have specific questions just ask them, and someone here will help you find the answers.