1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Nitto Dura Grappler review

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2009, 06:00 PM
krewat
Site Administrator
Received 297 Likes on 156 Posts
Nitto Dura Grappler review

Hello all!

First a little back-story to help with full disclosure.

I was contacted back in December by Nitto, asking if I was interested in reviewing a sample of their new Highway Dura Grapplers on my Superduty. The only thing they asked in return was to provide an HONEST review.

Of course I was interested I was running Goodyear Silent Armor Severe-Snow rated tires, and wanted to keep the tread on them for snow and severe off-road use, so this was a perfect opportunity to try out a highway tire.

I asked for a set of 285/75R16's, load range E, the same size/rating as the Goodyear Silent Armors I have been running for almost 2 years now. Both tires are rated at 3750lbs @ 80psi.

When they arrived, I was very impressed at the tread, especially the siping. Siping helps traction in rain and snow/ice. Attached at the bottom of this post is a picture of the tread. More pictures will follow after I wash the road salt off the truck

I mounted them in January and have been driving around on them for almost 2 months now, and I am very pleased. Mounting and balancing was done by a local shop who I bought my Goodyears from, and they said they balanced easily.

Here are my criteria for reviewing the Nittos, in order of preference:

Ride: A bit stiffer than my Goodyear Silent Armors, but this is what I wanted out of a highway tire. More stability, more control.

Handling: Again, a bit stiffer than the Goodyears. No tread squirm, which at highway speeds was a problem for me with family in the vehicle. Sometimes, just changing lanes, the Goodyears would let the rear of the truck move around unexpectedly because of the tread squirm. The Nittos are well planted.