Tennessee Chapter Join Chapter Leader: harleymsn

Looking for a nashville area IDI mentor

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2009, 02:36 PM
treehousedon
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking for a nashville area IDI mentor

Hello everyone, I'm a total noob to the ford diesel scene and i just got my self it to a tough situation. I figured this seems to be one of the highest traffic internet forums for ford trucks so i would start to ask here. I'm in need of a old school ford diesel mentor badly.

I traded for a decent shape 1986 f-250 4x4 manual trans. Originally it had the glowplug controler malfunction and burn out all of the glow plugs droping one tip into the engine. My friend, the original owner, replaced the glow plugs with OE ones, aparentely there is a huge difference in quality between brands. Anyway, he did the glow plugs, injectors and added a momentary switch to over ride the controler started it back up and he had a knock. Short on patients he parked the truck and let it sit imagineing the tip destroying the engine. I loved the truck and figured i could fix whatever came up so I traded for it and attempted to drive it home from Franklin to Springfield thinking it will either blow up or blow out the tip. It knocked for about the first 5 miles, a real light knock. Most people explained it as bad fuel timeing or a faulty injector. The truck quieted down and carried me all the way home with out a hitch. Monday i drove it to work started up fine no smoke or anything, Tuesday the same, Wensday it started to knock louder so it's parked for now.