A gooseneck stock trailer, the safety chains and the break away cable

Old 12-04-2008, 08:01 PM
dchamberlain
Lead Driver

Received 664 Likes on 424 Posts
A gooseneck stock trailer, the safety chains and the break away cable

Over Thanksgiving, my father and I drove his truck to Colorado to take a small load and bring back my brothers gooseneck stock trailer to use to move. (From Oregon, 950 miles one way, 18-19 hours one way, straight through with me and Dad switching off driving and sleeping... Brutal).

Anyway, I have little experience with goosenecks. It has monstrous safety chains and a cable attached to a break away switch, to activate the trailer brakes should the trailer come loose from the truck.

The thing is, the chains are shorter than the switch cable. We bought the trailer new and this is the way it came from the maker. It is a very well built trailer so I would assume the trailer is built right, but it doesn't make sense to me that, essentially if the gooseneck came loose from the ball, that it would reach the end of the safety chains long before it pulled the switch. This is assuming of course that I attach end of the switch cable to the same place I attach the chains. But I don't know where else I would attach it.

The only other thing I can think of is, the switch and cable are designed purposly this way, so that the break away switch won't activate unless the chains detach or break, so that the trailer comes entirely unattached from the truck. But frankly this doesn't make much sense either.

Does anyone have any input on how this is all supposed to work? We have to tow this trailer, loaded with stuff, back to Colorado twice, to get all of Dad and my step-mothers junk moved. At least one trip will be with my truck and I want to make sure this is all done right.

Thanks,

Old 12-04-2008, 08:37 PM
Saleenguy
Postmaster
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I own 3 trailers, and have owned others in the past.