1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Hello to all!

Old 09-06-2008, 07:22 PM
DOHC53f100
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hello to all!

I am new at the old school truck game. I remember my dad having a fat fender Ford back in the day. I finally got my own 1953 Ford F100. I bought the truck from a guy in Pa and I'm excited to have it and start working on her. I have a couple of Mustang Cobras (a 97 and a 96) sitting around and I think I will try to use the motor/tranny,front clip and rear end out of the 1996 car. The body of the truck needs the usual repairs, cab corners, cowl sections and door bottoms. The rest of the truck is pretty soild. I was looking at media blasting the body. I am on a budget and I really just wanna get her on the road as a weekend driver for now. I like the idea of the DOHC motor in the truck. I am hoping the Cobra front clip will drop in nicely. I don't know if anyone here has used this set-up. Your info/input will be much needed and appreciated on this project, by the way if anyone else is looking to do a similar project, I have an extra drive train and front clip. Thanks in advance for your support.

Old 09-06-2008, 07:54 PM
gdgerland
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome to FTE, DOHC53. Glad to have you. This is the best site on the net for info on old Ford trucks. Lots of good people that are willing to help. Sounds like a lot of work grafting the front clip from a Mustang on to your '53. I'm sure that someone has done it and will chime in with some info. Post some pictures as soon as you can so we see what you are working on. You will fit right in with the "Dark Side" of this forum. Be sure to demand cookies.

Gil

Old 09-06-2008, 08:07 PM
Gear Up
Senior User