1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

problems with engine f250 7.3 V8 diesel

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2008, 10:03 AM
boyler
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
problems with engine f250 7.3 V8 diesel

hello this is my first post here ( I hope not last heheh - sorry for my english language I am still learning)
I bought 2001-ford f250 7,3 v8 diesel and I have got a big problem.
I can't start the engine. The last time when the car was running were
6 months ago. I think that the problem is with bleeding the fuel system-an air inside fuel system-what is the best way to make it right?
another thing is that the starter motor runs too slowly and discharges batteries within two minutes
why?

thank you for any help

Old 07-22-2008, 10:27 AM
F350-6
Post Fiend
Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts
Welcome to FTE. Your English is fine so far. The batteries will drain quickly because the 7.3 is a high compression motor that takes a lot of power to turn over. I hope you've added some sort of fuel conditioner before you let the truck sit for 6 months.

Now to address your problem, first you need to load test your batteries individually. Weak batteries will spin the motor at a rate that sounds fast enough to start, but it won't start. The computer must see a minimum of 10.5 volts while cranking to tell the injectors to fire.