1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

My truck got hit!

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2008, 12:24 PM
abe
One Meadow Green Owner

Received 2,610 Likes on 1,454 Posts
My truck got hit!

My truck got hit last week by eggs! My wife was setting up for a yard sale so my truck sat outside last Wed. night. Most of you know I am a teacher. Well, it could be co-incidence but report cards were in the mail Wed. I went out Thursday morning saw the eggs, started to wash them off and thought I would call the insurance agent first. They told me to drive the truck to the office so they can take some pictures. The girl told me to go to 1 of the 3 body shops they deal with to get it painted or go get some estimates from others.

I went home and washed the truck. No damage except where the eggs hit the trucks. You can see the egg-zact (pun intended) spot where the eggs hit. There is a round series of paint chips about the size of an egg on the right front fender and the right side of the hood.

I have Classic Car insurance through State Farm. It only costs about $5 a month. There is only a $50 deductible. I have yet to take the truck to a body shop as I was busy this week, but will do it soon.

The only down side was that it was the right fender I had painted last fall after I had scratched it with a sled.

If you are looking for insurance check out State Farm's classic insurance. All I had to do was take the truck to the office and prove that it was a classic in good condition. Then I named my estimated replacement price.

Old 06-29-2008, 12:31 PM
ALBUQ F-1
Fleet Owner
Received 607 Likes on 377 Posts
Boy, that sucks, insurance or not! You're lucky the eggs' acids didn't do worse. Around here the "cool trick" is to squirt shampoo on a victim's car. You wouldn't believe what it does!

Old 06-29-2008, 12:59 PM
55 f350
Post Fiend
Received 1 Like on 1 Post