1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Saying Hi and looking forward to my time at this forum

Old 05-29-2008, 12:18 AM
W.Grills
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Saying Hi and looking forward to my time at this forum

Hi Everyone, I've just become the proud new owner of a beautifully un-altered and rusty 1953 M-100 so I thought I'd register and say "Hi".

The truck was my dad's and after I sold it 28 years ago it has come back to me. It is just sitting out in the praire weather and waiting for me to travel the 1000 mi to get her. I have yet to acually see what shape she's in but the farmer said she is all there, execpt the engine is probably seised, and the front axle was used to build a trailer.

I've never built a truck before, so I'll probably be tapping into the knowledge on this forum a lot. I'll try not to ask any dumb questions. I've always wanted to do this though, and I can't wait to get started.

Anyway, I just wanted to introduce myself and say "Hi".

First question, of all the companies out there offering IFS kits, which one do you consider the best?

Thanks everyone.

Old 05-29-2008, 12:48 AM
HotRodGuy
Freshman User
WELCOME! You came to the right place! Look around and read...you will find pretty much anything you can think of asking, but if you can't, just ask...the only dumb question is the one never asked! As for the IFS kits, i would recommend looking into a HEIGHTS Mustang II. There are plenty of companies and reputable hot rod shops out there that manufacture them. Other than that i would suggest just doing a search and/or see what other guys on here have to say.

Old 05-29-2008, 06:08 AM
GreatNorthWoods
Lead Driver
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Welcome to FTE. There are several IFS kits available. The MII or Dakota are good choices. If you're more of a do it yourselfer or you're on a budget look at the venerable Volare or the Jaguar IFS. Good luck on your project.