Sponsored by: DP Tuner

General questions about 1999 7.3 f350

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2008, 11:48 PM
oldgameandfishdiesel
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
General questions about 1999 7.3 f350

So my grandfather is wanting to tade his 1999 7.3 for my gas motor chevy. I am seriously considering it but i need to know what damage he may have done to it. He had a habit of starting it without waiting for the glow plugs, reving it when it was cold. neglecting to put in any aditive for the low sulfer diesel and thats about it for the moment. I have seen it ideling at times and it seems to look like it was smoking grey or white, dont know why, have also seen it not smoke at all when it is ideling. but i have seen it smoke black with a load on it. I am also a college student a little straped for cash so what is the fuel millage of a stock 7.3 and what can be done to get the most out of the fuel millage?
thanks for your help i appreciate it this is a big decision for me i just cant decide without some info.

Old 04-19-2008, 12:22 AM
brnab1
Senior User
A little more specs on the truck like miles, if you could the build date since 99 was a split year. As for the smoke when its first started in cold weather most trucks do smoke especially if it wasn't properly glow pluged.If you know how too turn a wrench youself some help 2 this something as simple as a new relay or even a set of glow plugs might only set u back about a $100 There r many things that influence fuel milage and alot of things that can help but an average would be between 14-18

Old 04-19-2008, 09:11 AM
Pocket
Post Fiend
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Glow plugs aid in starting, so if it's colder outside and he cranked right away without waiting for the glow plug light to go out, as long as the truck fired up it means those plugs are working just fine. That light means nothing, here's why: