Sponsored by:

Down and Dirty on D3VE head porting

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2008, 06:34 PM
kjett
Post Fiend
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Down and Dirty on D3VE head porting

First off, let me say that I am in no way an "Expert" on head porting, not am I a machinist or head porter by trade. I just wanted to let everyone know what all is involved in helping your stock heads "breath" a little better. And I know that my picture suck, but you get the idea! I will start with the heads removed, and all the valves, springs, seals, rocker arms/pedistals removed, in other words a bare set of heads.

Now, to get started with the tech:

I searched many different web sites to get the information that I used, but mostly I paid the $25 and joined Scott Johnsons Re-In-Car-nation site (Re-In-"Car"-nation High Performance and Automotive Repair/index) as he is been around a while, and in talking with many of the big engine builders in the Ford world, is reputed as the best Iron Head porter in all of North America, so that is saying something!

After spending many hours on the site, I gatherd the tools that would do the job, and those are:

An air grinder and decent air compressor:

Carbide burrs (I got the kit from Eastwood.com):

Cone and cylinder sanding drums (also from Eastwood.com):

And lastly, a good stone bit:

Now that you have the tools, you need to start by cleaning your heads. I just used engine degreaser, then sprayed it again with brake cleaner to get what grease and oil was left. Your local machine shop will hot tank them for about $30-50, and is probably the best way to start out. I am taking mine in later for deck milling and valves, so I just cleaned them myself for now.

One of the 1st things after you get to this point, is to plug the thermactor hole. It is the hole located in the exhaust port, next to the valve guide. It looks like this: