50/50 diesel and wvo

Old 04-02-2008, 10:36 PM
sand1
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
50/50 diesel and wvo

can u mix filtered veggie oil to regular pump diesel 50/50??

Old 04-03-2008, 07:29 AM
firemediceric
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I hope so. I've been doing something similiar for the past two years. Search my screen name.

Old 04-03-2008, 09:12 AM
Phydeaux88
Posting Guru
It is risky

Old 04-05-2008, 02:57 PM
akghound
Junior User
Use Caution here

Originally Posted by Phydeaux88
It is risky
Very true .... Diesel and filtered/de-watered WVO will mix just fine. Running it cold can cause major engine damage. In my opinion it is best to run a two tank setup where the WVO is heated. Start and shutdown on diesel. Run on WVO only when engine is up to operating temp.
Ken Gardner

Old 04-06-2008, 12:50 PM
Phydeaux88
Posting Guru
akghound
You got it.
Blending is a gamble that can cost you an engine.

BTW where in Big Sky Country?

Old 04-06-2008, 04:38 PM
AndysFords
Posting Guru
Advantages and disadvantages.
YOU will NOT burn up your engine, you MAY burn up injector pump/injectors if your not careful Where are you at, (warm climate, cool climate, etc.) I run 50/50 when its cold, then go all the way to 100 % in the hot summer, however, use common sense, I run Straight diesel when its below 32 degrees. However, I have enough miles on my old Ford and My old Dodge to buy both of them an engine with the money I've saved.

Old 04-06-2008, 06:53 PM
DISLFVR
Locomotive breath

Ok, got a question for you guys that run wvo with a 2-tank set-up and those that make biodiesel. If you process wvo to remove the glycerin and water and other goodies to make biodiesel and it's ok to burn, then running straight wvo in a 2-tank set-up still has all that junk in it right? So what harm would come by blending it in your tank? Forgive me, but after reading 'bout this stuff a couple years, still some grey areas. Thanks, Bill

Old 04-07-2008, 09:54 AM
akghound
Junior User