1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

58F100 turnsignals

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2008, 02:38 PM
Tomget
Posting Guru

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
58F100 turnsignals

I could sure use some help with getting this 58F100 turn signal switch working. I can't figure what's happening. I've got anOEM styled aftermarket turn signal switch from Dennis Carpenter and I can't get it working. I've got, I believe, good info on the color coding from the switch etc= red to stop switch,blue to flasher,yellow to left rear,white w/blue stripe to right front,green w/white stripe to left front, and green to right rear. I'm wiring this truck from scratch. I don't have any of the OEM switches-except this turn signal I guess-and I'm attempting to follow what I guess would be the basics-I've wired trucks before-I'm not an expert but the others still work fine. Here's the problem. After hooking up the switch wires as just described and as coincide with instructions as best I can see etc what I get is pretty weird. When I turn the lever for left or right turns I get both rear tailights flashing-simultaneously-and the front turn signals working fine. And secondly at this same time if I depress the brake pedal the before flashing lights all three- the one front turn and the two rear-all go "on" and quit flashing. And as I check the switch itself-it in fact is currrently, as installed, sending an actual current from both the yellow and green wires(left and right rear)simultaneusly as they come out of the switch itself? That seems odd. And why when I depress the brake pedal the flashing stops I don't know. Its indicated that the turn signal will "override" the brake lite? That's not happening. Ive goofed around with it for awhile, but I've run out of ideas at the moment. Sorry this is soo windy. Appreciate any ideas. I'm thinking that maybe the OEM wiring maybe has some sort of other switches or relay like things that I don't have, and