General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

calling all guitarists and wanna bees (me)

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2008, 07:26 PM
71dusterdan
Postmaster
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
calling all guitarists and wanna bees (me)

so iwas on youtube the other night looking up some deep purple videos, and combing tab sites for the same. i come across this video interview with ritchie blackmore, he is explaining a little into how he plays smoke on the water. well if that didnt sound nothing like it!!!! he is a rather pretentious sob he may have been trying to save face or something. it seems he plucks the 3rd and 4th strings and the left hand only spans a couple of frets. seems 2 generations of guitarists have been way off. i know it is an easy song, for a good guitarist, i am just learning it. anybody here wanna take a stab at his video, and try and read it for me. i think blackmore is a god, his riffs are so simple yet powerful, he seems to have a real good sense of note placement and letting his guitar breathe. he sure is a pretentious ..... though! anyone else really dig blackmores talents and tone??? Dan

Old 02-15-2008, 09:45 AM
blue beast
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How are you learning to play? I think tablature is one of the easiest to comprehend for
most new players and it has a flow to it. There are a bunch of tab sites out there but
you need to check a few to find the right notation some are correct and some are way
off!! I'm not too much on them but that song is a staple that every guitarist has to jam
out it is a rite of passage!! I'm more for jamming some AIC, SG, primus, sublime matter of fact if you like some sublime there is a bunch of tab for them and their songs will make you concentrate on your strumming, Which is just as important as your fret fingering.

Old 02-15-2008, 09:53 AM
olfordsnstone
Lead Driver
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts