Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Spring project

Old 12-23-2002, 09:51 PM
coonhunter
New User
Spring project

Im new at all this and recently I purchased a truck (1978 4by4 F150) with a 351 m , which I would like to rebuild this spring. Ive read and heard alot about oil pressure concerns in this engine and the last thing I want to do is drop money into a engine that will never produce results other than regrets. My question is should I bother with a modified, or are there another engine which is better design? I want a beefy motor, alot of torque, a small RV cam, what are all the factors to consider? This will be a huntin buggy, work horse, it will not be a "show truck". What are some thoughts, which will help me to prepare? I would how ever, like for it to be impressive when it performs.Thanks in advance

Old 12-24-2002, 12:50 AM
grclark351
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Spring project

think about some early heads, pre 75 for the better exhaust ports. check out http://users.abilene.com/~dkelly/hotrod/newmotor2.html
this guy knows his poop. the 400 crank and pistons go right into your block too,if you're going to bore or need a fresh crank you might as well take the free 50 inches and 1/2" of stroke!i think you're on the right track w/the mild cam,i like comp cams 268H.its a runner.for what you are describing for usage the stock intake,maybe a holley 2bbl(even the stock carb can be tuned to suit) and headers,slight stall converter-you be rockin

Old 12-24-2002, 10:23 AM
sluggo36
Junior User
Spring project