Performance mods - 5.4L exhaust & gears

Old 07-11-2020, 10:50 PM
WidgetTrac
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Performance mods - 5.4L exhaust & gears

2001 F-150 XLT ext cab, short bed, 5.4L auto trans,
3L55 gears, 265/75r16 (31.6) on factory alloys, camper shell, usually carrying about 600lbs of gear, occasional towing. 168K miles.

I have experience w/ EEC-IV MAF pushrod 5.0's...
if my '01 was an early '90's F150 w/ a 351W, I'd be doing pulleys, CAI, bigger MAF, throttle, intake manifold, injectors, cam, roller rockers, headers & exhaust... great thing about the EEC-IV was it used the MAF & O2 sensors to tune itself - as long as you stayed n/a, it could handle pretty much anything.

- BUT - I'm a total newbie to mod motors!! I've been looking around the forums, here is what I *think* I know, so far: my '01 has 2v PI heads.
it does not have VVT, cam phases, or anything else besides guides & tensioners on the timing chain.
there are not really any high performance intake upgrades available, unless I want to shell out big bucks for trick flow heads & hardballer intake
(I don't. modest budget)
there is no reason to put a bigger throttle or MAF, since they're pretty well matched to the OEM intake manifold - just remove the silencer & enlarge the fenderwell inlet. maybe match the elbow outlet to match the upper intake inlet.
the OEM intake manifold is probably going to crack sometime soon, and if I want midrange & top end power (I do!) then the OEM intake is the best replacement.
the exhaust manifilold studs are a b*&@%!!
some kind of aftermarket tuner will be needed when mods are done.

that's ALL i *think* I know!! please chime in w/ corrections & additions!!