1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Paint Booth Heat

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2007, 01:54 AM
Proud48f1
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Paint Booth Heat

Hi all,
I'm trying to keep myself motivated and involved with my project, so I'm looking ahead at what I'll need for future steps in my project. So I've got the space to make up my paint booth but I'm not experienced enough at how to get the right light and heat for the booth. I looked at posts like this in the "paint and bodywork forum" and it seams it's more of a pissing match in there, no offense intended. So my question is what type of heat to use, type of light needed and what temp is optimal for the best paint job.
I'm trying to get everything lined up this winter so I can get it done this summer.

Thanks in advance, Troy

Old 12-17-2007, 02:06 AM
Mr Jimi
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You have a very vague question, what kind of booth and how much will you use it to justify the price. And how large do you want it, is this homeowner use or are you setting up a full paint shop. I have painted in $75,000 booths 20 years ago and we know they are heaps more today.
Lot's of great painters here and I know they will all suggest something good for you

Old 12-17-2007, 07:36 AM
bobj49f2
Hotshot
Received 2,059 Likes on 804 Posts
Here is how I painted a truck in the dead of winter; heat garage with a kerosene torpedo up to about 75 degrees, shut off the heater, spray paint, open garage door, air out garage, turn on torpedo heater, repeat--Not a very good idea. I'm lucky I didn't blow myself up