6.4L Power Stroke Diesel Engine fitted to 2008 - 2010 F250, F350 and F450 pickup trucks and F350 + Cab Chassis

new to diesel

Old 12-12-2007, 10:20 PM
ZonaNavyStar
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
new to diesel

I thinking about buying a slightly used 2008 (7K miles), built in Jan 08. I checked the oasis, and it had a check engine light: EGR valve checked and replaced under warranty. Doesn't seem like a big deal to me. Any see any red flags just from that?

Also, since this would be my first diesel truck, what are my maint. costs going to look like? Oil changes, etc. I heard the fuel filter needs to be changed with oil changes. Can anyone kinda give me an idea of what I am getting myself into? Thanks.

Old 12-12-2007, 10:37 PM
Sayonara
Senior User
have them check the TSB's and make sure it gets all of the reflash updates.
good luck. i wouldnt be too concerned with the EGR valve but im no expert.

Old 12-12-2007, 11:12 PM
ZonaNavyStar
Senior User
how would one go about checking the TSBs? Would the dealer do this? thanks

Old 12-13-2007, 08:12 AM
powerstroke1350
Senior User
built in jan 08?? that hasnt been built yet then...

Old 12-13-2007, 08:42 AM
Champ198
Elder User
I'm on my first diesel as well. I have two friends that have diesels. I bought the 6.4 because I couldn't find a good used diesel in 4x4. I have a 34ft 5th wheel I tow. The 6.4 tows it like it doesn't know its back there. They say that once you go diesel, you wont want to go back to gas.

Re: service, I let the dealer do the oil changes. I knew service would be expensive and I don't do maintenance like that in my driveway. I had my first oil change at 5k miles. Cost $100 at the dealer, I know that's high but I don't want anyone else touching it while its under warranty. The next oil change will include fuel filters and a tire rotation which will hurt $$ just a bit.

My truck was made in April and I took delivery off the lot in August. So far, I've had zero warranty claims.